Insights & Media


New Regime for Driving Licenses from CPLP and OECD Countries


On the 12th of July, a decree-law that allows citizens of CPLP (Community of Portuguese Language Countries) countries to drive in Portugal with a driving license from their country of origin was published.

Holders of a driving license from one of the CPLP countries will no longer need to change their driving licenses to be able to drive in Portugal. The previous regime required the issue of a new driving license within 90 days after moving to Portugal or, in the case of member-states of the European Union or of the EEA, the registry of the address in Portugal within 60 days after the driver changed his address to Portugal.

Now, the foreign driver's license can be used until the end of its validity, and only then is it mandatory to switch to the Portuguese driver's license.

To be covered by this regime, the driving license must have been issued or renewed for less than 15 years, and the holder must be under 60 years old.

This measure applies to citizens of Angola, Brazil, Cape Verde, Guinea-Bissau, Equatorial Guinea, Mozambique, São Tomé and Príncipe and Timor-Leste, as well as nationals of OECD countries[1].


These measures will take effect on the 1st of August 2022.

[1]Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States.